Furniture Projects- Dresser Makeover!

As the saying of old goes- better late than never? I have discovered I think I am super awesome at taking before and after pictures, but I am very wrong about that.

I have been d y i n g to redo Andres’ dresser for ages now and finally tackled it last week. The only problem is, I took a before video of it on snapchat and forgot to save it. So my before pictures are basically non existent. Boo.

I was able to scrounge up some photos if you look in the background.

IMG_3097Look at that cute baby!

IMG_2636

The picture above is pretty true to life of what the dresser looks like every day. I don’t know why Andres has to open so many drawers to get the clothes he needs for the day….or why it is basically impossible for him to close them afterwards. Insert monkey emojii covering eyes….

I took Annie Sloan’s Old Ochre Chalk paint to dress this bad boy up.

IMG_6428IMG_6430

The hardest part was selecting knobs. I ended up being disappointed with the ones I settled on. Andres loves them. Go figure. They are from Hobby Lobby and were $2.50 each!

IMG_6432IMG_6464

I think I want to go back and distress around the edges of the piece again. Or I might just add a tinted wax.

IMG_6453IMG_6458IMG_6457IMG_6471

Cannot get enough of that cutie.

These show the original finish:

IMG_6447IMG_6446

The piece that is resting on top of the dresser is a cabinet I got from the Restore for $5…like 3 years ago.

IMG_3659IMG_3669IMG_3677

I eventually would love to put mis matched knobs to hang jewelry on inside.

IMG_5471

The bottom glass knob is the one I wished I had gone with for the dresser. Darn you gut instinct!

So there you have it! One project finally documented.

IMG_6463

 

 

About wendyhermosilla

My name is Wendy and I am an interior designer who is married to my hunky Chilean husband who is a graphic/web designer. I graduated from CSU Fresno State with my Bachelors in Interior Design. I met my wonderful husband in an intro to perspective drawing class. I guess you can say we were “drawn” to each other. Back in 2010, my husband and I began our house hunt adventure and he tried to talk me into starting a blog to catalog the experience, as well as projects I take on around our new house (that we got in 2015). So here it goes!

Leave a Reply

